Corporate Governance

Rugby Players Ireland is represented by an executive committee comprising nine members, including a Chairman and CEO. Leinster and Ireland fullback Rob Kearney was appointed Chairman of the organisation in September 2013, taking over from a list of Chairman’s before him, including Jonathan Sexton Brian O’Driscoll, Marcus Horan and Mark McHugh.

Simon Keogh was appointed as Director and CEO in 2017, taking over from Omar Hassanein who now acts as CEO of International Rugby Players. Previously, Niall Woods acted as Director and CEO since the inception of the organisation in 2001.

The full current Executive Board comprises Rob Kearney (Chairman), Eoin McKeon (Connacht), Jonathan Sexton (Leinster), Peter O’Mahony (Munster), Andrew Trimble (Ulster), Shane Jennings (Past Player Representative), Peter McKenna (Non-Executive Director), John Treacy (Non- Executive Director); and Simon Keogh (CEO/ Director).

Within its constitution, Rugby Players Ireland affords all of its paying members an opportunity to vote for their respective provincial representatives on the Executive Board. The Rugby Players Ireland Constitution also sets out the obligations of the Board, including the minimum requirement of three executive Board meetings per year.